Music in the Art of Samuel Beckett

Main Article Content

Ștefan Roman


In November 2018, the premiere of the opera "Fin de parties" by György Kurtág took place at the Scala theater in Milan. On a stage with a rather conservative and traditional reputation, the performance based on Samuel Beckett’s libretto invites an exploration of the musicality of this modernist playwright. Often, in his correspondence, Beckett resorts to a critical, aesthetic reading of the concerts he heard. Being also a quite appreciated pianist (in non-professional circles), we can realize the importance that music had in shaping both his aesthetics and his dramaturgical constructions. This essay aims to explore the “musical details” present in Beckett’s work, aiming at a reconstitution, even if not complete, of the theatrical expression of the musicality of his texts. The possibilities of staging them were fulfilled by countless compositions, or musical works, including Kurtág’s work, "Fin de parties", which we will mainly deal with and from which we will actually start our research.

Article Details

How to Cite
Roman, Ștefan (2022) “Music in the Art of Samuel Beckett”, Theatrical Research, 3(1-2 (5-6), pp. 169-181. doi: 10.46522/CT.2022.01-02.09.


Bálint András Varga (coord.), György Kurtág: Three Interviews and Ligeti Homages, Rochster, New York, University of Rochester Press, 2009.

Barenboim, David, Everything is Connected. The Power of Music, Brand, George Weidenfeld Nicholson, 2008.

Beckett, Samuel, Opere, vol. 2: Murphy. Watt. Vis cu femei frumoase şi nu prea, traducere de Ileana Cantuniari şi Veronica Niculescu, Iaşi, Polirom, 2010.

Beckett, Samuel, Opere, vol. 3: Molloy; Malone murind; Nenumitul, traducere din limba franceză de Gabriela Abăluţă, Constantin Abăluţă şi Ileana Cantuniari, Iaşi, Polirom, 2011.

Beckett, Samuel, Proust, New York, Grove Press, 1978.

Beckett, Samuel, The Complete Dramatic Works, London, Faber & Faber, 2006.

Fehsenfeld, Martha Dow, Overbeck, Lois More (coord.) The Letters of Samuel Beckett, Vol. I: 1929-1940, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2009.