Ütőhangszerek nyomában koncertterem és színház között

Main Article Content

Márta-Adrienne Elekes


In the Footsteps of Percussion Instruments Between Concert Hall and Theatre

Wondering among the works in Szabó Csaba’s creative workshop – from the youthful to the last creations – some unclear remaining questions couldn’t give me the right peace of mind. Probably the "Among Glass Shards" orchestral work provided the first decisive impetus for mapping the composer’s affinity for percussions. Based on the still ‘living’ sources and unexplored documents, I had started to trace historical and stylistic elements. My attempt can briefly be summarized as a scientific rescue action, which aims to contribute to a more accurate illustration of the history of certain works, to perpetuate memories and, if possible, to enlighten some new correlations. In the meantime, I found more and more interesting documents, information, facts that led me from the concert hall to the theatre and back and forth. The answers to my ‘percussion’ themed scientific curiosity, besides the published or unpublished scores were to be found in the composer’s manuscripts/drafts, in some references from his published to be studies, as well as talking with the percussionist who regularly played at the opening nights of Szabó’s creations.

Article Details

How to Cite
Elekes, M.-A. (2020) “Ütőhangszerek nyomában koncertterem és színház között”, Symbolon, 20(2(37), pp. 41-55. Available at: http://uartpress.ro/journals/index.php/symbolon/article/view/131 (Accessed: 12May2021).


ELEKES, Márta-Adrienne, 1996. „Ütött” a XX. század. Népújság, Marosvásárhely, 1996 július 2, 2. old.

ELEKES, Márta-Adrienne, et al., 2013. Üvegszilánkok között – Szabó Csaba emlékkönyv. Budapest: Cellissimo Kiadó.

ELEKES, Márta-Adrienne, 2019 – Beszélgetés Kovács János ütőhangszeres előadóművésszel, Marosvásárhely: Saját hangfelvétel.

KILYÉN, Ilka, 2014. Emlékezés Illyés Kingára, Múzsa (Népújság), 2014 november 8, LXVI. évf., 258. sz.

SZABÓ, Csaba, 1998. A magyar népzene és századunk második felének magyar műzenéje. Kiadatlan írás.


SZABÓ Csaba, 1999. Conversations – zongorára és ütőhangszerekre, obligát harmonikával (1983), Szombathely: A szerző saját kiadása.

SZABÓ Csaba, 1983. In a dream – zongorára és ütőhangszerre. Kiadatlan kotta.

SZABÓ Csaba, 1994. Üvegszilánkok között – zenekari variációk (1976), Szombathely: A szerző saját kiadása.